Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Trademark Info Corp - Don't Pay These People

An organization named Trademark Info Corp is sending out a document to Canadian registered trade-mark owners offering "publication of protected trade-marks on the internet" for the fee of CDN $1330. The website of this organization is here.

At first glance, this document looks like an invoice.

There is NO GOOD REASON for anyone to pay any money to these people. Any Canadian registration is already recorded and can be viewed at the Government of Canada's official website for the Canadian Intellectual Property Office, which is here.

Remember what P.T. Barnum is said to have said - "There's a sucker born every minute."

HK

13 comments:

Anonymous said...

Fantastic! These are con man business that should be reported. They do not even have a telephone number to call. Faxes were un-answered!

Please circulate this information.

Gary Berwick said...

We just received 3 of these invoices and assumed it was a "scam".

Anonymous said...

Je viens juste de recevoir cette pseudo facture de 1330$ pour 3 ans de publication.... pour un logo qui n'a pas été accepté par l'OPIC il y a deux ans déjà. Une adresse à
Montréal sur l'enveloppe de retour et une de la France sur celle de réception??? Belle arnaque en vue.

Anonymous said...

We have an address from their mailing:
157 Adelaide St. West
Suite 443
Toronto, ON M5H 4E7 as per their mailing.
Not only do they want payment, they want access to your bank information for electronic transfer and if you use American Express, they want the Verification Numbers of the back of the card! Nice try!

Anonymous said...

Somebody in the Big Smoke should visit this address at:
157 Adelaide St. West
Suite 443
Toronto, ON M5H 4E7
and see whassup...
and let us know.

Anonymous said...

I am tempted to send them payment.
IN MONOPOLY MONEY!! HO-HO-HO

Anonymous said...

Who IS lookup on the domain name finds an address of:

Registrant:
Monika Kindle (monika_kindle@yahoo.com)
Trademark Info Corporation, AG
Alte Churerstrasse 45
Balzers, 9496
LI
00423-384-1077


Domain Name: trademark-info.net



Administrative, Billing Contact:
Monika Kindle (monika_kindle@yahoo.com)
Trademark Info Corporation, AG
Alte Churerstrasse 45
Balzers, 9496
LI
00423-384-1077

Technical Contact:
Registrar Support (domains@srsrenewals.com)
SRSRenewals.com
250 H Street #565
Blaine, WA 98230-4033
US
+1.800-657-8704

Anonymous said...

Thankyou for your post, I reviewed these and determined they were scams as trademarks are registered with the government. These could slip through the cracks though and these characters should be reported. I wonder if their office is located in a living room somewhere far far away.

Anonymous said...

The letter doesn't say what are you going to pay for, besides a "publication" but still, looks official and real (the scam is!). Ours has a very OLD version of one of our logos.

Anonymous said...

Even though it is a scam, it is a service that these people are offering, registering your trade mark on their web site. Well, if it works for you!
Nice cash if you can get it!
Remember the (possibly apocryphal) story of the guy who advertised in the New York Times "If you don't pay me (?) xxx dollars, I will tell everyone your secret". Apparently he (she?) made a lot of money.

Anonymous said...

They have now posted their mailing address as
Trademark Info Corporation
3495 Cambie Street
Box 405
Vancouver BC V5Z 4R3

Alberto said...

Hi, I just want to warn about these scams in Mexico, I got here through google, and im pretty sure this information will be useful for someone else, here is the info:

TRADEMARK INFO CORP.
Regus Torre Siglum, Insurgentes Sur No 1898, Piso 12 y 14, Col. Florida/CP 01020, México D.F.
e-mail: office@trademark-info.net
www.trademark-info.net
Fax: 00-423-3841889

Carlos said...

Me too! I just received this letter and had to Google it, luckily I found this website and I know for sure it's a scam.

Si estas en Mexico y recibes una carta de Trademark Info Corp, ignorala no debes de pagar, es una farsa, el unico autorizado para el registro es el IMPI (Instituto Mexicano de la Propiedad Intelectual), lo peor del caso que la informacion que me ponen en la carta es informacion personal que la obtuvieron del IMPI que se supone que es confidencial , viva mexico.